Joie de Vivre

My parents love to tell stories about my unique personality as a child. One, in particular, stands out that I think about often. I couldn’t have been older than four when, as my parents will tell you, I rode my tricycle through our house and sang the “Sister, Sister” theme song. My parents mimic me singing the song all the time. This is such a stark difference from the more reserved demeanor I have today. While I still do enjoy things on the same level, if not more, I find myself more embarrassed about these things and tend to hide my joy.

I vividly remember this moment; however, I’ve never been able to recall anyone else’s presence, only the feeling of being free and happy. Often times when I’m having a bad day or just feel “off-kilter,” I think about how I at one time was so unashamed of the joy I felt that I literally couldn’t contain it. I remind myself that that is my goal in life. No matter what I’m doing or where I’m going at the end of the day I want to feel that happiness and freedom on a consistent basis.

I believe everyone has one succinct memory of pure joy that they’re always aiming to reach again. I believe at the core of everything that exists is love and joy, and that is what everything revolves around. It is what drives us and gives us any form of ambition and goal.

One of the things that gives me so much joy is storytelling and the many ways and forms they take. What drives me is finding a story that evokes emotion, especially when it is told in a skillful manner. That is peak happiness for me. What drives you? What gives you joy? Is it a memory? Is it something in the present?

Published by anaaab98

A'na Banana but I don't like bananas.

4 thoughts on “Joie de Vivre

  1. The first thing that comes to mind is the laughter of children. I was just on a phone call with my dear friend, and her grandchildren were laughing in the background. It was contagious! Haha. 🙂 Love your attitude and your goal. 🙂 Wishing you blessings and JOY! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started